Day 65 – I-Ching

I became interested in the I-Ching about six years ago when a friend introduced me to it. I decided the best way to learn about it was to use it as a divinatory aid. I quickly learned how to ask questions receive answers using 3 chinese coins. I went through a whole year where I consulted the I-ching every day. This method taught me well about each hexagram and their subtle meanings. More so than simply reading the book could have achieved.

If you don’t know the basics about this 5000 year old book, google it. I highly recommend getting to know this work. It will always be there to help guide you for the rest of your life. You will not regret this decision.

I have tried many different versions of the text, but generally use Richard Wilhelms.

Terence Mckenna used the I-ching to create  a time wave theory. His work is most inspiring.

“It’s clearly a crisis of two things: of consciousness and conditioning. These are the two things that the psychedelics attack. We have the technological power, the engineering skills to save our planet, to cure disease, to feed the hungry, to end war; But we lack the intellectual vision, the ability to change our minds. We must decondition ourselves from 10,000 years of bad behavior. And, it’s not easy.” — Terence McKenna, This World…and Its Double

Leave a comment